Please Leave a Review for a CTI School - Page 3

I Disappear When You Log In - Register

 

I Disappear When You Log In - Register

^^ The Advertisements above disappear once you log in. Not a member? Register Now, it's free! ^^
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 41 to 45 of 45
  1. #41
    KeelowJay90's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    'Merica
    Posts
    118

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Caveat the last post, I want to know if anyone here had been hired or at least attended the Academy after graduating Florida State College at Jacksonville or any 2-year college with the TC in ATC. I've got VetPref, but I feel like my own ATC experience in the Army's not going to be good enough as it wasn't good enough for the military open bid that was open through Dec 2015 until June.

    I'm right at a crossroads here, knocking out the core classes at the end of this term and starting my air traffic portion the next semester. I'm 25, and if HR5292 ATC hiring reform bill doesn't go through, then I'm a bit screwed for now. Any ideas?

  2. #42
    nhstadt's Avatar
    Epic Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    south "Murica
    Posts
    2,982

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Quote Originally Posted by KeelowJay90 View Post
    As for military, I can vouche for you NE. Military experience is a huge plus, but if you want relevant air traffic experience, join the air force or navy. I did 5 years active duty with one deployment and honorable discharge for the GI Bill benefits, got out Oct 2015 with four air traffic ratings of which aren't relevant to the FAA at all because in the FAA, don't drive a truck out in the middle of a mud pit and start yelling at helicopters through a set of HF, VHF/UHF and SATCOM radios.
    I found the army controller.

  3. #43
    nhstadt's Avatar
    Epic Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    south "Murica
    Posts
    2,982

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Quote Originally Posted by KeelowJay90 View Post
    Caveat the last post, I want to know if anyone here had been hired or at least attended the Academy after graduating Florida State College at Jacksonville or any 2-year college with the TC in ATC. I've got VetPref, but I feel like my own ATC experience in the Army's not going to be good enough as it wasn't good enough for the military open bid that was open through Dec 2015 until June.

    I'm right at a crossroads here, knocking out the core classes at the end of this term and starting my air traffic portion the next semester. I'm 25, and if HR5292 ATC hiring reform bill doesn't go through, then I'm a bit screwed for now. Any ideas?

    OTS bid.... and don't count on that vet pref doing anything for you.... fellow Army controller with a CTO, still took me 4 years to get hired... long road but worth it.

  4. #44
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    134

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Ill tell you one thing, don't bother going to Lewis University unless you are getting a degree in something guaranteeing you 500k salary. Their tuition prices are hiked up because its a Christian school. GG my bank account.

  5. #45
    KeelowJay90's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    'Merica
    Posts
    118

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Yeah, I know what you mean, and I don't expect vetpref to get me a stone's throw father than some CTI grad. Honestly, I've scarcely heard of any Army controllers that had got out within the past several years with a CTO or god forbid an ARAC rating, and risk trying to pick up some controller gig in the FAA.

    Some people say go to school, some people say go through the military, and most of what I'm getting from the peanut gallery are disgruntled controllers saying, "Well, if OJTs are getting hired, then what's the point of CTI or military when anyone can put in for any bid?".

    I'm currently going to a 2-year CTI gig, so I was hoping that, wkth a mix of 4 year military air traffic experience would help a bit.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •