Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

I Disappear When You Log In - Register

 

I Disappear When You Log In - Register

^^ The Advertisements above disappear once you log in. Not a member? Register Now, it's free! ^^
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 45
  1. #1
    Admin's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,350

    Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    If you have attended any of the FAA Approved CTI Schools, please take a few moments and provide a review for the school you attended so you may help a fellow member.

    Just click the link below and find the school you attended!

    AT-CTI Schools - Air Traffic Control - ATC - Aviation

  2. #2
    holdshort84's Avatar
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    like a 1 legged man in a kickball game..its not pretty
    Posts
    15

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    getting ready to graduate from FSCJ in jacksonville Fl, truthfully this is what every CTI school should model themselves after. I am not saying this b/c I go here, I am saying this b/c this program is that good.
    All of our instructors are retired or are active controllers.
    At some point they were also involved with training new hires.
    O and all worked in one of the largest airspaces...jville.
    best decision I have ever made.

  3. #3
    lrcr's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    96

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Green River Community College --

    I was fortunate that Green River was within 30 minutes driving distance from my home. This is an Associate Degree program that has a LAB/SIM.

    I would choose this school again and again because the instructors are great and all of the ATC core classes are taught by active/retired controllers from Seattle Center and Salt Lake Center. All the other aviation classes such as private pilot ground, instrument flying, airline dispatch, weather, etc… are taught by professional pilots from Alaska, FAA Flight Check, Private Corp Jets, Northwest--now Delta, and maybe a few others.

    The air traffic LAB we use is a great way to get introduced into keyboard entries/phraseology. There are also 3 flight simulators which we get about 40-50 hours in learning how to fly and be on the other end of the mic.

    There are many opportunities for networking as we have many “field trips” to Boeing, Seattle Center (ZSE), Seattle TRACON, SeaTac Tower and many other aviation related events. There is also an internship (not paid) you can apply for at the last quarter of your CTI program.

    Overall I paid about $20k for my degree (tuition, fees, books, gas) and it's worth every penny. I would love to have gone to Embry Riddle however the location and price were not realistically doable for me, but, if you’re interested in getting a BS from Embry Riddle they will transfer MOST of the credits received from Green River. If you’re focused with a decent head on your shoulders you could finish this program (100 credits now) in 4 quarters. If anyone has specific questions let me know!

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    232
    Ccbc 5678910

  5. #5
    dyltrayvon's Avatar
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles/ Walnut,CA
    Posts
    3

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Hello I will be starting school at Mt. Sac does anyone have an opinion on that school the teachers or CTI program.

  6. #6
    NovemberEcho's Avatar
    Epic Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    4,379

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    He didn't mean leave a review as a reply to this thread people.

  7. #7
    Epic Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ZLA CPC
    Posts
    1,384

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Thats good ole college ed-u-meh-cation right there

  8. #8
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    I am going to CCBC right now. I have a CTO and Radar Rating already but due to the hiring freeze I figured I could get a degree while I wait. I like it a lot so far, the degree does call for the student to get a Private Pilots License. Which that has Pros and Cons, Pros being that you see the other side of aviation (which is really valuable) cons being that you have to pay for a Private pilots (between 5 to 6,000). They have 2 options for ATC, Tower and EnRoute. I am doing EnRoute due to me having a CTO already. I have not started the sims yet but I have been told it uses the same airspace that OKC uses for school. Also another good thing about the program is that it offers summer classes, which graduating as fast as possible is very valuable to getting hired faster. That was one of the key differences of the other programs around the country. And for the tower students, we have a tower at our airport that the students get trained by some controllers that worked at PIT. Soooo I hope that is helpful.

  9. #9
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    oh yea! One more thing! HAIL TO THE REDSKINS!!!

  10. #10
    NovemberEcho's Avatar
    Epic Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    4,379

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    and some of you wonder why you never get hired. attention to detail people!!!!

  11. #11
    phillyman2633's Avatar
    Epic Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    International waters
    Posts
    4,210

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Hello everyone, I heard that Embry-Riddle is cheap school, is true? I was like to go with school that is the cheaper, I am out from country and am liking the aeroplanes and palm tree on websites

  12. #12
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    lol oooohhhhhh, im on it lol

  13. #13
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    14

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    I am considering starting there in February - Did you start this Fall? What do you think of the program?

  14. #14
    N813JB's Avatar
    Trusted Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    338

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Quote Originally Posted by holdshort84 View Post
    getting ready to graduate from FSCJ in jacksonville Fl, truthfully this is what every CTI school should model themselves after. I am not saying this b/c I go here, I am saying this b/c this program is that good.
    All of our instructors are retired or are active controllers.
    At some point they were also involved with training new hires.
    O and all worked in one of the largest airspaces...jville.
    best decision I have ever made.
    First off, you would be hard-pressed to find a CTI program that didn't have retired controllers, teaching. Two, at some point, all CPCs are involved in training, it's part of the job description. Three, having lots of airspace doesn't really mean much.

  15. #15
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Smyrna, TN
    Posts
    1

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    I'm currently going through CTI at Middle Tennessee State and feel like what we have going on is excellent. We have a few retired controllers teaching us and a lab that is state of the art. According to our head instructor, we are way ahead of Riddle when it comes to how we train and the equipment we use. Not to say Riddle doesn't have a good program, but I have heard they don't have retired controllers as teachers.

  16. #16
    Jax
    Jax's Avatar
    Senior Analyst

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    N90-EWR
    Posts
    867

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Until the tract record proves otherwise, Beaver County will continue to be the top CTI school. Can't argue with the results. Its the school with the highest rate of success in checking out here at N90.

  17. #17
    N77022's Avatar
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Climbing Via
    Posts
    22

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Tulsa Community College is the absolute best. All others are trash.

  18. #18
    StuSEL's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    You know where.
    Posts
    1,016

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Quote Originally Posted by Jax View Post
    Until the tract record proves otherwise, Beaver County will continue to be the top CTI school. Can't argue with the results. Its the school with the highest rate of success in checking out here at N90.
    This page is giving me a tract infection.

  19. #19
    phillyman2633's Avatar
    Epic Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    International waters
    Posts
    4,210

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Quote Originally Posted by dctjf0290 View Post
    I'm currently going through CTI at Middle Tennessee State and feel like what we have going on is excellent. We have a few retired controllers teaching us and a lab that is state of the art. According to our head instructor, we are way ahead of Riddle when it comes to how we train and the equipment we use. Not to say Riddle doesn't have a good program, but I have heard they don't have retired controllers as teachers.
    Lol yeah we definitely don't have former controllers instructing....actually, it's just a vicious cycle, you graduate then are accepted into a teaching slot for 10 years or until you die of smoking too many cigarettes or alcoholism, whichever comes first.

    And the moon is made of cheese and Rocky 6 made it into the Library of Congress for being a culturally significant movie!

  20. #20
    Newcomer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Pensacola Florida
    Posts
    11

    Re: Please Leave a Review for a CTI School

    Planning on going to Beaver County Community College it seems to have a good rep has anyyone already been there if so what did you think?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •