Atss Vs Electronics Technician

Jul 9, 2019
Hey Folks,

I am considering applying for an FAA 'electronics technician'. I have applied for 'atss' positions several times with no luck. I currently have a good job that pays well but ready to try something new. I am currently an avionics technician (shop level) for an airline.

Anyway, I have a few questions,
1) What are the difference in an ATSS (comm, nav, radar or environmental) and an 'electronics technician' position?
2) What is the approximate max pay for an electronics technician (at the FAA)?
3) How well does everyone like working for the FAA?
4) Is it fairly easy to 'move around to different positions at the FAA?

Thanks in advance..

SMS

Trusted Member
Oct 28, 2014
1) ATSSs maintain and certify a wide variety of equipment for use in the national airspace system. ETs work in a variety of positions from glorified construction workers doing systems installations in the field (I was one) to bench techs working on the same piece of equipment every day.
2). The performance level of ATSSs is H band with some I bands. Many ET positions top out a G.
3). Best job I’ve had since I left the military over 10 years ago
4). It is generally considered difficult to move around. Details and special assignments exist but you aren’t going to just decide to move to say, Florida, and have it happen overnight. Some people wait years for a move to come through.

Last edited:
Jul 9, 2019
Thanks for the info!
I suspect the opening is for a construction type position. Travel is estimated to be greater than 76%.

BigHorse

Feb 27, 2013
1) ATSSs maintain and certify a wide variety of equipment for use in the national airspace system. ETs work in a variety of positions from glorified construction workers doing systems installations in the field (I was one) to bench techs working on the same piece of equipment every day.
2). The performance level of ATSSs is H band with some I bands. Many ET positions top out a G.