Commercial pilot to ATC?? Online / Distant Learning CTI??

rotorhead

Newcomer
Dec 29, 2008
Moved: Commercial pilot to ATC?? Online / Distant Learning CTI??

Moved to: http://www.stuckmic.com/atc-employment-forum/2619-commercial-pilot-atc-online-distant-learning-cti.html#post14716

I recently looked into becoming an ATC and found that the process has changed quite a bit from when I first looked into it several years ago. If I remember correctly, a lot of things got you kicked out of the pool back then. It sounds like it's gotten a lot better, but the process is still very confusing. This site has really been a big help.

A few questions for the far more experienced.........

Has anyone gone the commercial pilot to ATC route? Any better odds, treatment, etc? I've been an EMS helicopter pilot (part time news/traffic pilot) for the past 5 yrs. I have about 3100 hrs, an instrument rating, CFI/CFII, A&P/IA, fixed wing rating. No military though.....all civvy. Almost all of my flying has been in or under a busy class B. More than half was inside a busy Class D under the B.

Are there any online / distant study CTI schools? I know there's simulators and such, but can you do all the lessons & bookwork online, then come do the hands-on stuff for a week, month, whatever? I have a very flexible schedule and tons of downtime to do the bookwork.

For the CTI schools that I have looked at, it seems that everything is worked into a degree program. Do any of these schools just do ATC reqs and nothing else or make a schedule to fast-track a CTI? If so, approximate length? I already have a BS in Aviation Management and a MBA, I'm not looking for any more wallpaper.

For the commercial pilots again, is "moonlighting" allowed? Can you still hold a part-time flying job on your days off? When I looked into an FAA Inspector job, you couldn't hold any aviation jobs inside of your FSDO (or region?)