FAA Academy Changes

Status
Not open for further replies.

astats87

Oct 11, 2010
I'm right here
Be ready for changes when you get to OKC. I heard after September things are going to change. In fact, things are going to change so much that they are shutting down the academy for 3 weeks in september to upgrade systems and stuff.

I heard they were going to make a lot of changes. They already made a lot of spur of the moment types of changes to the class I'm in right now. So if you are memorizing the maps on stuckmic, I'd just say be prepared to see a different map when you get down here. I'm not sure if they are changing the map, but I heard some drastic changes are in place.

Good luck to all.

liondave

Oct 23, 2009
I'm really curious about this 3 week shutdown people have been talking about. I can't imagine they would stop our per diem. Keep us updated!

dlc3y

Newcomer
Oct 27, 2011
TN
I graduated in May from a CTI school. Does anyone know the wait time or should I call or what? Or do I just sit back and wait on a phone call. I want to know that everything is at least on file! All help is welcome.

astats87

Oct 11, 2010
I'm right here
problem is, raytheon is lowering the amount of instructors made available for training. Since they are short staffed now, every single class down here has to stay 6 days extra. I know it's only 6 days, but it totally throws off our schedules. Extra instruction doesn't even come with the extra 6 days. They call it "self study" time.

For the extra 6 days we stay down here, we are basically instructor-less. The reason why is because we have to share instructor time, so instead of running 6 problems a day, we'll be running 4. stretching the 45 or 46 problems we taking anyway.

Now, I'm not so sure about the actually classes that are going to be cancelled or not. It's just a rumor now. Be ready for a postponed class or a cancelled class.

RedBaron

Academy Housing Provider
Apr 22, 2009
Oklahoma City, OK