Hopefully a few simple questions

gwe0510

Newcomer
Dec 5, 2011
Here's the short story. I've been browsing this site for a couple of years now, mostly checking to try and compare others' dates for a general idea as to when I'd be going to class. After waiting for what seemed like forever, I finally have a class date but a few things remain unanswered. Maybe I'll get more information when I receive my welcome packet.

1.) The class length for an applicant that is possibly going on to a center position is 62 days. Does this include any refresher? It feels like it's been forever since I graduated from my university and I'm fearful that I'll fall behind (maybe someone could point out some study material?).

2.) How long do I have, if I pass at the academy, to relocate to my designated position? The information I received says 1 day. Is this correct?

3.) When does pay increase from training pay to the temporary employee pay?

4.) What kind of material do I need to bring with me? I'm assuming a laptop, a notebook, pens, and maybe a straight edge for some map making.

5.) I noticed, when checking the shuttle schedules, that there are shuttles for classes at 0700, 0800, and 1530. How long are classes? Are those times posted for different types of groups attending the academy (tower, ground, center, etc.), or are there different classes that you go to and from like in college?

6.) Lastly, when have most of you received your welcome package? I read that it usually arrives 10 days prior to your class date.

Additional information for whomever cares:
TOL: February 07, 2012
FOL: December 17, 2012
Class Date: January 10, 2013
Center: ZNY

Thanks

*edited formatting and wording for clarity.

islandguy

Nov 9, 2010