Long Time Lurker, Recently Denied

BubbaTucks

Newcomer
Jul 15, 2015
College Station
Hi all,

First, I would like to thank the users since I attribute much of the knowledge obtained regarding the application process and the AT-SAT to this forum.

I am a recent graduate who had planned on attending ATC school after college, but received some unfortunate news last month. I applied early last year, and passed everything except for the background check. On my application I outlined what I would consider light drug use my freshman and sophomore years of college, and have since been debarred from any FAA position until 2019.

I failed to work on a plan B, and am currently looking for a job that actually pertains to my major. Not wanting to leave this door closed, I am hoping someone might be able to provide me with some insight on other possible routes. Are there any jobs that ATC works closely with that might benefit me on a future application? I also understand how serious drug use is in this field, and have accepted that this door may already be locked. Please do not hesitate to let me know if keeping this option open is unrealistic.

Thanks in advance

nhstadt

Epic Member
Mar 24, 2011
south "Murica
No, the door is not locked, just make sure to keep all the paperwork for your next security interview in 2019 so you have it all on file and all your ducks in a row.

NovemberEcho

Epic Member
Dec 8, 2010
Long Island
Were you charged and convicted for this "light drug use" or did you just tell them you thought there was nothing wrong with some hookers and blow, so long as it's on the weekends?

nhstadt

Epic Member
Mar 24, 2011
south "Murica
Were you charged and convicted for this "light drug use" or did you just tell them you thought there was nothing wrong with some hookers and blow, so long as it's on the weekends?
Wait, I'm not supposed to be hoarking nose candy off a callgirl's ass on a thursday night???? Shit. Wish they would have told me that earlier.....