NY Facilities

atcBOB

Rookie
Dec 26, 2008
I graduated in Dec 2008 and just missed the last CTI announcement, so I just applied to the CTI announcement hat opened up today. For Geo pref I just put throughout NY. I know places like JFK and ZNY were hurting for people couple of years ago. Does anyone if that's still the case? I was hoping to get in one of the major towers, JFK, LGA or ZNY. Or are they filled with trainees now and aren't in need of people? I'm just wondering if I should add another state to my geo pref. I need a job!

Muneco

Senior Analyst
Jan 13, 2009
I graduated in Dec 2008 and just missed the last CTI announcement, so I just applied to the CTI announcement hat opened up today. For Geo pref I just put throughout NY. I know places like JFK and ZNY were hurting for people couple of years ago. Does anyone if that's still the case? I was hoping to get in one of the major towers, JFK, LGA or ZNY. Or are they filled with trainees now and aren't in need of people? I'm just wondering if I should add another state to my geo pref. I need a job!

JFK isn't hiring. Try getting a tour and watch them basically say go F' yourself. They also said that the ATO makes that decision and not them. LGA couldn't answer if they needed people either. I was told to just apply on asap, which I already did. Your best bet is to work En Route like ZNY or N90. ZNY facilitates a hundred or so people, much easier to be trained in, but takes longer to be certified. Towers are small, and they can only train 2 or so people at one time. LGA has 2 new trainees at the moment. One is learning Local and the other just got in and doing Clearance. I doubt they will bring in another person untill a year or 2. It would suck having to train someone all the damn time.

I'm curious to know what did you get on your ATSAT?

GQ007

Rookie
Jun 19, 2008
NYC