Pilot to ATC??

cmsuflyboy

Newcomer
Aug 30, 2009
Hey fellas Im sure it's been covered before a little but here goes. I am a 135 pilot flying a couple King Air's, and FO on a jet. I also fly lifeguard flights and am on-call pretty much 24/7. Im sick of the schedule, the low pay (40K), no raises (due to the economy so my boss says while he spends 75K on a new Mercedes), no job security (several friends have been laid-off) etc etc. There is guys with 10,000 hours sending us resumes to fly our Baron. I don't want to be that guy. I think I've had enough of this and sent my app in for the last PUBNAT and was accepted to take the AT-SAT test. As a career ATC sounds so much better but I am nervous that I might miss flying (I think I'm so used to the abuse) but it doesn't seem worth it just to fly planes anymore. It's all I ever wanted to do but now I feel like I've checked off all the boxes I wanted. Im mostly ranting but anyone else feel this way and made the switch? How has it been?

irishcarbomb

Epic Member
Dec 3, 2008
Houston, TX
welcome to stuckmic! We are seeing more and more pilot's make the swtich...including myself and my wife. Motivated by being able to eventually buy an airplane and fly for fun. Among other obvious benefits. I never believed that flying professionally could turn into "just another job" but it did, and I love flying too much to let that happen.

Markv

Rookie
May 19, 2009
I was an regional FO for 2 yrs until I got furloughed. I had gone through a CTI program in college as a backup just in case something like that happened.