Talking to ATC

Status
Not open for further replies.

StudentPilotSNA

Newcomer
Jul 19, 2014
Hello everyone. I am a student pilot that fly's out of KSNA. I have just started to solo and my instructor told me to get flight following from ATC when I am out on my own just flying around so they can inform me of traffic in my area. I am all for this; however, every time I call ATC it is extremely busy and I am still new at the radio and how to talk. I feel like the controller is getting frustrated with me and I really don't want to be a hinderance to him/her. What can I do to help this situation besides just getting better with talking on the radio? Can I explain to the controller I am new and if he could take his/her time? Just looking for the best way to approach this as I know you have a very important job to do and I don't want to take away from that.

Thank you,

Charles

phillyman2633

Epic Member
May 13, 2010
International waters
www.drudgereport.com
Yes, advise ATC that you are a student pilot and that should loosen them up a bit. Controllers would be more apt to help you and more understanding if you let them know from the start that you are a student pilot. I am sure SCT can be very hectic to deal with and very intimidating for a student pilot, but flying around in busy airspace will make you a better pilot (don't use ATC traffic advisories as a crutch, though, as when you leave controlled airspace you'll assume responsibility for traffic watch).

Since SNA is a Class C airport, you have to get clearance before taxiing. Your best bet is to let CD know when you call up that you would like flight following...they should add it to the remarks section for your VFR strip and then you're set from there. CD is one of the least congested and least hectic frequencies you can deal with as well.

"Santa Ana Clearance Delivery, Skyhawk 12345 request VFR clearance to Long Beach airport at 2500, with information Charlie, request flight following."