This might clear up some things, its what i aimed for.

auxxiliary

Sep 2, 2009
Anchorage, Alaska
As I scroll down the forum topics i seem to see a never ending list of threads that are just for "PANIC" factor in my opinion.
I know I havent been waiting for a year or years like some of you have, and I am a CTI student that has heard things that might not pertain to OTS.
But nevertheless I have talked to 3 of my professors which were all ATC (I know times have changed since they were first hired but its the best info i can get) ranging from 10 to 24 years controlling.

From what they tell me there are some major points for you to consider:

1. COLA is supposedly going away (it will soon in Alaska), and since Locality pay is taxable, many controllers are staying in longer to get a larger retirement since paying into the system more gets you more when you leave. (COLA is non taxable).

2. Hiring Freezes - So the FAA tells you they are in a "hiring freeze", 2 of the 3 professors I was talking to said they were indeed "Hired" during that so called "Freeze". It doesnt supprise them to hear when they are in a freeze, since its the FAA (the government) it probably means they just ran out of money till March. =/

3. The Government takes a long time to do anything.

4. If its logical or makes sense then you can count on the FAA to do the opposite.

5. Dont despair, ATC is a very specific field where a majority of the Controllers are about to the end of their careers. If you are impatient then i suggest going to a CTI program, I know this is not for everyone and that not everyone has the money for it (get a loan?) but when i graduate next year i wont only have a very good chance at being a controler but i also have a degree from a University in a country that has employers looking for any kind of certificate that shows you have completed something.
Even if its underwater basketweaving.

Hope this helps and not hinders.