time off to get married?

shyfly

Trusted Member
Aug 6, 2008
CA
so i applied for the may 2nd bid (im also a cti student but i figured this would be faster) anyway, got my 2 states email and now im waiting for whatever happens next

i got engaged on saturday(woohoo) and trying to plan the wedding is gonna be a pain in the ass unless i know when ill be doing what

assuming i go to the academy no later than jan, start work in april... would it be hard to get time off for an october wedding?? we cant commit to ANYTHING yet... and it sucks because places out here have 1 year reservation minimum~!

thanks for the help!!! :)

zabnut

Jun 17, 2008
Albuquerque
First of all, Congrats on getting engaged.

I would have to say go ahead and make your plans. Worse thing that could happen is you could get an academy date that conflicts with your wedding and you just need to ask for a different date. I am pretty sure they will work with you on that. Otherwise you will in a facility and can easily get leave for such an event. I know you hear a lot about how hard it is to get leave, but that is for people that are checked out. While in training, except for classes you can get off work most any time you want.

I would set up the wedding on a weekend (Most people usually do anyhow) because if you are in a training class you already have weekends off anyways. At the academy you will have weekends off too. Also try to look for a federal holiday in conjunction ie Labor day ect. That way you have an extra day off if you are at the academy or in a class in a facility anyhow. if you set your wedding up for a long federal holiday weekend you probably won't have to ask for anything special like a different academy date or special leave from a class. Another added benefit is it will be easier to remember your anniversary date if it is close to a holiday, that can save you a ton of heartache later.

shyfly

Trusted Member
Aug 6, 2008
CA