Way Points

kapadiamaulik

Newcomer
Sep 20, 2008
Hi,

I am a student and pursuing my Masters field. Frankly speaking I have no experience in Air Traffic. I am doing a research project on how the ATC works and stuff. For all those have experience I needed to ask a couple of things.

1. I needed to know, how does the pilot maintain the air route for the required destination ? What i know is there are few way points through which under normal conditions a air craft has to pass. So what are these way points ?? Is it necessarily have to be some air ports ? or that can be just some towers ??

I hope you people can help me out so that I can understand the current concepts.

Regards,

Roddy_Piper

Resident Knucklehead
Jun 15, 2008
Vegas baby
www.myspace.com
Fixes are not towers and not necessarily airports. They are NAVAIDS (most times located at airports), named intersections of NAVAID radials, distance and radial from a NAVAID (fix, radial, distance OR dme fixes), GPS fixes (received by GPS), or just latitude/longitude fixes. There's a few new types of fixes showing up in the en route maps. They look something like this...KD543. Their depicted mostly in conjunction with lat/longs. I don't really like them from the en route controller point of view because there's 0% chance of knowing where that fix is in the world. (most of the geeks know exactly where they all are..tee hee).

Anyway, these days the pilots navigate by letting their auto pilot point the way. They fly to the point that they requested in their flight plan. Their flight plan consists of fixes or routes as stated above. The airplane then flies to the points they requested.