What Would You Do?

cjcutcher

Newcomer
Nov 24, 2017
GA
Good Evening!

I'm a current student in a CTO program expected graduation Oct. 2019. I would eventually like to make a career as a controller (preferably tower option) in the FAA and I'm 27 years old. Should I shoot for an off the street bid and fill the "needs of the FAA" then work my way towards a tower after getting radar qualled (if I don't get tower bid) at a facility OR just wait after gaining at least a year of tower experience and put in a direct hire tower bid? What would you do?

Thank you,
Chris

Ceedubya

Rookie
Jan 23, 2018
Texas
Good Evening!

I'm a current student in a CTO program expected graduation Oct. 2019. I would eventually like to make a career as a controller (preferably tower option) in the FAA and I'm 27 years old. Should I shoot for an off the street bid and fill the "needs of the FAA" then work my way towards a tower after getting radar qualled (if I don't get tower bid) at a facility OR just wait after gaining at least a year of tower experience and put in a direct hire tower bid? What would you do?

Thank you,
Chris
Honestly, from what I’ve read being CTI or OTS mean the same thing. Given your age you should apply during open bids while you still have time, can’t hurt if you think about it.

bayoumudd92

Oct 25, 2016
Stockton, CA
Well you should never not apply... apply pool 2 OTS if you dont qualify for pool one. Its that simple the math also says you have a better chance in pool one than pool two. You don't really have a choice and if you do it obvious to pick pool one.

Ceedubya

Rookie
Jan 23, 2018
Texas
Well you should never not apply... apply pool 2 OTS if you dont qualify for pool one. Its that simple the math also says you have a better chance in pool one than pool two. You don't really have a choice and if you do it obvious to pick pool one.