Will I ever get the time of day with Serco!!!

dfiantii

Jun 8, 2009
I know I am going to probably get flamed for this but just had to get the average responses from those in the know. Does SERCO have something against Army Controllers or is there just known stigma against Army and prior Army controllers.
I live in California and I have two CTO's now on my third one and I have been applying for two airports in the area to know avail. I have visited one tower but not the other. I have some GA traffic experience total yrs as a controller 4 Army, 3 overseas contract with a 3 yr break for a Associates degree in Electronics and employment with the state as a student employee and student trainee with the Fed before the economy really took a dump.

So I would just like to get an opinion I guess, maybe at the end of the day I need to take a position at a remote site to get where I want to be but I guess I made the assumption that since I was already in close proximity that it might be easier to get hired.

Don't brow beat me to hard with your responses.

maddog68

Rookie
Jan 19, 2010
AZ
you cant just expect to walk in to the tower of your choice. check out the website and see where there are openings. pick one or more of those, then apply. that way, your foot is in the door. we have numerous openings now, so start applying. if you want a job, you can't be fixated on just two towers.

The Heatles

Loving Life
Jun 15, 2008
Miami, FL
ARMY controlling gets a bad rep since fixed wing traffic is a bit rare at places you guys work at. Most companies dont weigh ARMY experience as much as other services for this reason.

Im sure the biggest problem facing you is where you are trying to get to more than your background. Most FCTs only have 6-8 controllers in the facility total. Until one of them leave... a spot wont open up.

dfiantii

Jun 8, 2009