Word Document Resume VS. Resume Builder on USAjobs.gov

djziri

Newcomer
Nov 21, 2012
17
0
1
I have a couple of concerns regarding my resume:

1. The resume builder seems very vague. Isnt it just a box to fill in your information? No centering, tabbing, format adjustments like in a word document.

2. Can you upload both a Word Doc. Resume and use the resume builder?

3. Will a word doc. produced on a mac work the same as one produced on a pc?

4. Will the resume builder allow you to upload pictures of your pink card or Airman Written Test (AWT)? Or do those not even help or matter?

I hope someone can shed some light on these bullets.
 

ECHODELTA85

Senior Member
May 5, 2011
198
1
18
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
I have a couple of concerns regarding my resume:

1. The resume builder seems very vague. Isnt it just a box to fill in your information? No centering, tabbing, format adjustments like in a word document.

2. Can you upload both a Word Doc. Resume and use the resume builder?

3. Will a word doc. produced on a mac work the same as one produced on a pc?

4. Will the resume builder allow you to upload pictures of your pink card or Airman Written Test (AWT)? Or do those not even help or matter?

I hope someone can shed some light on these bullets.
Just create a PDF and call it a day.
 

Ram_Tough

Trusted Contributor
Jul 5, 2010
638
9
18
The USAJobs resume hits all the points they are looking for. Now that a computer does all the selections it's probably best to just use that.
 

BreezyBeachLife

Trusted Contributor
Jan 23, 2013
711
6
18
ZKC
Gezzz what's up with all this people wanting to submit their "very specialized amazingly centered detailed resume"....USE THE RESUME BUILDER! It makes sure the FAA has everything thing they want to know about you, thousands have been picked up using it (including me), and its a way for your resume to get in the system the quickest cuz if not some HR rep has to get around to entering your shit in manually...Again, USE THE RESUME BUILDER! Stop thinking your customized resume is gonna give you a leg up on the competition...if anything you risk it hurting you.
 

cdubya

Rookie
Jan 4, 2014
44
2
8
Like everyone else said.

Though, I do have a related question: What about cover letters? Do the announcements typically ask for one or is it "known" for this position to submit one regardless? I know we won't know what is required until the vacancy is announced but sometimes I feel like employers want to see who follows directions by submitting only what they are asking and nothing more. Though, I never heard anyone not moving forward for submitting too much, but still. Thoughts?
 

BreezyBeachLife

Trusted Contributor
Jan 23, 2013
711
6
18
ZKC
Ya'll making it seem like we applying to become the next astronaut going into space! lol For real, submit what it says, fill in the blanks, and then twiddle your thumbs until they hurt and then twiddle some more.
 
Last edited:

NovemberEcho

Epic Member
Dec 8, 2010
4,388
68
48
Long Island
What Breezy said. Some of you guys are putting WAY to much thought into what is probably the most basic thing you'll ever have to do. Go to USAJobs. Click "create resume". Fill in what it says to fill in. Boom! All done! No need to pay someone to do it for you, no need to make some elaborate looking word document. It's really not that hard.
 

ECHODELTA85

Senior Member
May 5, 2011
198
1
18
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
I understand that people are using the resume builder. But, I worked for a company full and part time for years. Sometimes I worked full time and if I couldn't, I worked part time. However, the resume builder doesn't allow you to make such a selection. Everything is not black and white. I just want to make sure my work history is accurate.
 
Last edited:

32andBelow

Senior Analyst
Jan 20, 2011
1,024
10
38
I understand that people are using the resume builder. But, I worked for a company full and part time for years. Sometimes I worked full time and if I couldn't, I worked part time. However, the resume builder doesn't allow you to make such a selection. Everything is not black and white. I just want to make sure my work history is accurate.
Just make multiple entries for the same company if it was for different jobs.
 

a619blackout

Newcomer
Jan 31, 2014
22
1
3
I got referred and I used the resume builder through USAJOBS. Two of my friends wrote their resume and they got referred and picked up. One is working in Cali another is at the school house in OKC and another is waiting for his class date. I think i'll try to write mines this time around. But its mostly preference.
 

Sirricky85

Newcomer
Apr 21, 2012
9
0
1
If you want to create your own word doc resume make sure to include everything that the USAJOBS.gov resume builder ask for. Just my opinion.
 

32andBelow

Senior Analyst
Jan 20, 2011
1,024
10
38
If anyone has ever previewed their resume on USA JOBS it is not a bad looking format by any means.
 

ColdAilment

Senior Member
May 26, 2012
275
2
18
So on the USA jobs resume, what exactly is everyone putting in their duties and experience box?

I started, but haven't finished. I just put in the duties and responsibilities of each control position I am qualified on from the 80T-114 publication from work. Will that do? Or should I put it in my own words?
 

titanman2789

Junior Member
Jan 15, 2014
78
6
8
So on the USA jobs resume, what exactly is everyone putting in their duties and experience box?

I started, but haven't finished. I just put in the duties and responsibilities of each control position I am qualified on from the 80T-114 publication from work. Will that do? Or should I put it in my own words?
That'll do.

You could write it out in a paragraph, list bullet points, etc. But since you already have duties and responsibilities from the publication, I'd just use that. You can always type up a thing or two after your list. What is it, 5000 characters for the duties box? You could put a lot in there. If you feel that something isn't covered well in that publication, then add it afterwards. Can't do any harm
 

SierraBravo

Junior Member
Nov 22, 2011
112
1
18
As far as I know, your resume on usajobs should be reduced to you professional jobs, just like a one-page resume would. There will be plenty of time to list all of your random jobs dating back 10 years on the actual application.

Someone want to correct me if I'm wrong?
 

AlphaBravoh

Trusted Member
Feb 17, 2011
490
12
18
As far as I know, your resume on usajobs should be reduced to you professional jobs, just like a one-page resume would. There will be plenty of time to list all of your random jobs dating back 10 years on the actual application.

Someone want to correct me if I'm wrong?
I listed all of my relevant experience. So I put all the control towers I worked in the Navy, as well as my current ATCT. That's it. If they want my full work history, they can either ask for it, or you'll see it somewhere during the application process...As SB said, maybe looking for 10 years of work history...
 

titanman2789

Junior Member
Jan 15, 2014
78
6
8
I listed all of my relevant experience. So I put all the control towers I worked in the Navy, as well as my current ATCT. That's it. If they want my full work history, they can either ask for it, or you'll see it somewhere during the application process...As SB said, maybe looking for 10 years of work history...
Yes only relevant work history on the resume. The background check is where they will find out everything else.
 

ColdAilment

Senior Member
May 26, 2012
275
2
18
Yes only relevant work history on the resume. The background check is where they will find out everything else.
How rigorous is the background check? Will someone with a misdemeanor on their record (me) be disqualified even if I do disclose that information to them?